Temp : 23°C   Humi : 90%
2021-04-12 20:40:21
About Us

Historical Development

Origin

In the 1980s, Macao’s continued economic take-off aroused the aspirations of society to provide protection for local workers and establish a social security system.  After extensively listening to opinions from all walks of life, Decree-Law No. 84/89/M was promulgated on 18 December 1989 to formulate a social security system, and Social Security Fund (abbreviated to FSS in Macao) was established to implement the system.

1990

On 23 March, the FSS was officially put into operation.  Subordinate to the Secretariat for Health and Social Affairs at that time, the FSS was a public legal person with administrative, financial and property autonomy.  The Administrative Committee was established as the management organ of the FSS, and its members included representatives of the government, employer and employee parties.  The purpose of establishing the FSS was to implement the Social Security System, which allows the Macao residents receive protection for their living when they are unable to work due to old age, disability, unemployment and illness.

The initial protection targets were mainly local long-term employees working for others, and the benefits included old-age pension, unemployment benefit, incapacity payment, sickness allowance and compensation for Pneumoconiosis, etc.

1993~2007

Decree-Law No. 58/93/M was passed on 18 October 1993 to include temporary workers in the scope of social security, introduce voluntary contributions to broaden the scope of contributions, improve existing benefits, which includes adding new benefits (birth allowance, marriage allowance, funeral allowance, etc.) and an additional payment, formulate a minimum 60-month contribution requirement for old-age pension, and introduce a penalty system for employers who fail to fulfil their contribution obligations, etc. in order to gradually improve the Social Security System.

Later, in order to ensure that self-employed persons are protected as well, especially old-age security, the FSS adopted a gradual approach between the years from 2001 to 2007 - self-employed workers in 30 different industries, such as insurance practitioners, tour guides, doctors, therapists, masseurs, acupuncturists, and taxi drivers were included in the Social Security System.

After returning to the motherland in 1999, the FSS came under the jurisdiction of the Secretariat for Economy and Finance.

In 2007, in order to cooperate with Social Welfare Bureau's granting of financial aid to individuals or households in a state of economic poverty, the aid payment cases previously handled by the FSS were transferred to the Social Welfare Bureau after the introduction of By-Law No. 6/2007, making the two concepts of “social security” and “social relief” more clearly defined.

2008~2012

The Labour Relations Law, which came into effect on 1 January 2009, included domestic workers in its applicable scope.  Employers are obliged to pay contributions for their local and non-resident domestic workers, and local domestic workers are also included in the Social Security System so that they can enjoy the same benefits like ordinary local employees.

The “Law on Employment of Non-Resident Workers” that came into effect on 26 April 2010 requires employers to pay an employment fee for each non-resident worker actually hired.

In addition, starting 2008, in order to satisfy the aspiration of residents to lower the age to apply for old-age pension, the SAR Government allowed beneficiaries attaining the age of 60 and under the age of 65 to receive old-age pension on percentage.

In order to provide protection for the living of Macao residents in their retirement, the SAR Government proposed in 2008 the idea of a two-tier social security system, including the first-tier (Social Security System) and the second-tier (Central Provident Fund System).

In 2011, the FSS was transferred to the jurisdiction of Secretariat for Social Affairs and Culture, and at the same time, Law No. 4/2010 (Social Security System) officially came into effect, reforming the contribution system by rolling out the obligatory and arbitrary contribution systems, in order to expand the scope of protection to the entire population.  With regard to the second-tier (Central Provident Fund System), the SAR Government first regulated the government appropriation in 2009 through By-Law No. 31/2009 (General Rules for the Opening and Management of Individual Accounts under the Central Savings System).  Then in 2010, government funding was injected into the individual account of each eligible participant for the first time.  Taken into effect on 15 October 2012, the Law “Provident Fund Individual Account” replaced the “Central Savings System”, laying the foundation for the establishment of Non-Mandatory Central Provident Fund System that includes contributions of employers and employees, thus gradually advancing to the realization of a two-tier social security system.

2013~2020

Afterwards, the FSS prepared the first draft of the proposed plan for the “Non-Mandatory Central Provident Fund System” and conducted extensive consultation in 2014.  After summarizing opinions from all walks of life, the draft law was submitted to the Legislative Assembly, which was passed in detail on 31 May 2017.  Law No. 7/2017 (Non-Mandatory Central Provident Fund System) came into effect on 1 January 2018 and Macao’s two-tier social security system has entered a new stage since then.

With the implementation of the “Non-Mandatory Central Provident Fund System”, it indicates that the core function of the FSS has expanded from the implementation of one single system (Social Security System) to the simultaneous implementation of two systems (Social Security System and Central Provident Fund System).

Effective on 18 July 2017, the "Organization and Operation of the Social Security Fund" added a vice-president, a department and four divisions (including the Department of Central Provident Fund System, Division of General Affairs of Provident Fund System, Division of Management of Accounts of Provident Fund System, Division of Investment Affairs and Division of Public Relations and Technical Support), to effectively implement the governance goals and perform new functions.

In January 2018, the “Employment Incentive Programme for Disability Pension Beneficiaries” was officially rolled out to provide beneficiaries who want to get a job again with trial work opportunities, enhancing their motivation and confidence to re-enter the labour market and helping them integrate into society.  In October of the same year, the SAR government revised the relevant laws to make the disability pension universally applicable to all people with disabilities.

In order to ensure the sustainable operation of the Social Security System, Law No. 14/2019 (Consolidation of the Financial Resources of the Social Security Fund) took effect on 13 August 2019 to increase the financial sources of the FSS.  The Law also stipulates that 3% of the balance of the central budget implementation of the Macao SAR after the end of each fiscal year shall be allocated to the Social Security Fund.

In 2020, the FSS marked its 30th anniversary.  After years of improvement, its service network has expanded from a single service point at St. Lazarus Parish Field Office to offices or service areas at NAPE, Areia Preta and Islands District.  Residents can also check and handle most of social security services by various electronic means.

Future

Social Security Fund will continue to improve the two-tier social security system, and in particular to promote the transition of the second-tier (Central Provident Fund System) to mandatory implementation so that residents can receive better old-age security and actively promote e-government to provide the residents with more convenient and efficient social security services. 

Last updated: March 2021

溫度 : 27°C   濕度 : 94%
關於我們

歷史發展

源起

八十年代,澳門持續的經濟起飛喚起了社會對於保障本地勞工、建立社會保障制度的訴願。在廣泛地聽取社會各界的意見後,於1989年12月18日頒佈第84/89/M號法令,制訂出社會保障制度,並設立社會保障基金作為執行制度的機構。

1990

3月23日社會保障基金正式運作,隸屬當時衛生暨社會事務政務司,為財產、行政及財政自治的機構,並設行政管理委員會為管理機關,委員包括政府及勞資團體的代表。社會保障基金成立的目的,是透過執行社會保障制度,使本澳居民在因年老、殘疾、失業及患病等原因而不能工作時能得到生活保障。

初期保障對象主要是為他人工作的本地長工,給付項目包括養老金、失業救濟金、喪失工作能力金、疾病津貼及肺塵埃沈着病的賠償等。

1993~2007

1993年10月18日,第58/93/M號法令通過,將臨時工納入受社會保障的範圍及增加自願供款,擴闊了供款層面;改善現有福利,包括增添新的福利項目(出生津貼、結婚津貼和喪葬津貼等)及固定特別金額發放(第十三個月的發放);制訂領取養老金須供款最少60個月的規定和引入對沒有履行供款義務的僱主的處罰制度等,逐步完善社會保障制度。

及後,為使自僱人士同樣得到保障,尤其是養老保障,社保基金以循序漸進的方式,自2001年至2007年間逐步將30類不同行業的自僱勞工,如保險從業員、導遊、醫生、治療師、按摩師、針灸師、的士司機等勞工納入社會保障制度。

1999年回歸後,由經濟財政司管轄。

2007年,為配合社會工作局向處於經濟貧乏狀況的個人或家團發放援助金的制度,在第6/2007號行政法規推出後,將過往透過社保基金發放的救濟金個案,改為由社會工局作出發放,使“社會保障”與“社會救濟”兩個概念得到更清晰的界定。

2008~2012

2009年1月1日生效的《勞動關係法》,將家務工作者納入其適用範圍,僱主有責任為本地及非本地家務工作者繳納供款,而本地家務工作者與一般本地僱員一樣被納入社會保障制度並享有同等福利。

2010年4月26日生效的《聘用外地僱員法》則規定僱主須就每名實際受聘的外地僱員繳納聘用費。

另外,為滿足市民對下調養老金領取年齡的訴求,特區政府在2008年起容許年滿60歲至未滿65歲的受益人,按百份比收取養老金。

特區政府為使本澳居民在退休後生活得到保障,於2008年提出了包括第一層的社會保障制度及第二層的中央公積金制度的雙層式社會保障制度的構想。

2011年,轉由社會文化司管轄,同時第4/2010號法律《社會保障制度》正式生效,將供款制度進行革新,推出強制性及任意性供款制度,使保障覆蓋範圍擴展至全民;而第二層中央公積金制度,在2009年透過第31/2009號行政法規《開立及管理中央儲蓄制度個人帳戶的一般規則》,首先展開規範政府撥款的工作,並於2010年首次向合資格參與人個人帳戶注入撥款。2012年10月15日,《公積金個人帳戶》法案生效,取代《中央儲蓄制度》,為建立包含僱主及僱員供款的非強制中央公積金制度構建了基礎,逐步推進雙層式社會保障制度的實現。

2013~至今

其後,社會保障基金積極編製《非強制性中央公積金制度》建議方案的初稿,並在2014年進行廣泛諮詢。

社保基金經總結各界後意見後向立法會呈交法律草案,並在2017年5月31日獲得細則性通過並將於2018年1月1日實施,意味澳門的雙層式社會保障制度即將邁入新紀元。

隨著《非強制性中央公積金制度》的實施,標誌着社會保障基金的核心職能將由單一執行《社會保障制度》,擴展至同時執行《社會保障制度》及《中央公積金制度》。

2017年7月18日生效的《社會保障基金的組織及運作》增設一名副主席、增設一廳四處(包括中央公積金制度廳、其轄下的公積金綜合事務處和公積金帳戶管理處,直屬行政管理委員會的投資事務處、公共關係及技術支援處),以有效落實施政目標及履行新增職能。

 

更新日期:2017年7月